Saunders, Grant, Plokhy among Lionel Gelber Prize nominees

Source: Quill & Quire, 1-17-11

Three Canadians are among the nominees for the 2011 Lionel Gelber Prize: Globe and Mail European bureau chief Doug Saunders received a nod for his book about the global shift toward urbanization, historian Shelagh D. Grant was nominated for her authoritative history of competing claims over Arctic sovereignty, and Harvard University professor S.M. Plokhy was shortlisted for his revisionist account of the 1945 Yalta Conference.

The complete list of nominees is as follows:

  • Yalta: The Price of Peace by S.M. Plokhy (Viking)
  • Why the West Rules – for Now by Ian Morris (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Arrival City: The Final Migration and our Next World Doug Saunders (Knopf Canada)
  • The Hungry World: America’s Cold War Battle Against Poverty in Asia by Nick Cullather (Harvard University Press)
  • Polar Imperative: A History of Arctic Sovereignty in North America by Shelagh D. Grant (Douglas & McIntyre)

The $15,000 Lionel Gelber Prize is awarded annually to “the world’s best non-fiction book in English that seeks to deepen public debate on significant global issues.” This year’s winner will be announced on March 1, 2011, with the winning author set to deliver the annual Lionel Gelber Lecture at a March 29 awards ceremony at the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs. The winner will also appear in Washington, D.C., at an event hosted by co-presenter Foreign Policy magazine.

Paul Cadario is the chair of the 2011 Lionel Gelber Prize jury. He is joined by jurors David Frum, Rachel Lomax, Mark Starowicz, and Steven Weber.

%d bloggers like this: